What Is a Ford 351 Windsor’s Firing Order?

The firing order for a Ford 351 Windsor is 1-3-5-7-2-6-5-4-8, which is different from the firing order for most of the company’s other V-8 engines. Cylinders one through four are located on the front left side of the engine, whereas cylinders five through eight are located on the right side.

Making ensuring the 351 Windsor’s firing order is proper guarantees that the right spark plugs ignite and the engine continues to operate smoothly. When replacing spark plugs, if a vehicle runs smoothly before the plug wires are removed, they are most likely in the correct order. Labeling them before removing them from the spark plug is the simplest method to ensure they stay in that sequence. Knowing the firing sequence allows the owner to return the correct wire to each plug if they are accidentally rearranged.

Due to consumer demand for more powerful stock engines, Ford produced the 351-cubic-inch Windsor in 1969. The early powerful models of the engine produced over 300 horsepower on inexpensive gasoline. Ford lowered the power output as emission standards came into effect, with the 1973 Mustang producing only 169 horsepower. For many years, Ford used the 351 Windsor as a standard engine in a variety of automobiles. However, due to increased demand for improved fuel economy, it no longer offers this engine on any of its vehicles as of 2014. Ford’s motor sports division still sells the 351 Windsor as a crate engine.

Read more: In Arkansas, how many times may you get married?


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Read More