What Are the Northern States of America?

The northern states are Connecticut, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Vermont, and Wisconsin. During the American Civil War, these were the states that were part of the Union.

Even though the northern states are now considered one region, in the past they were split into four different areas: New England, the Middle Atlantic states, the Old Northwest (East North Central States), and the Great Plains (West North Central States). The northern states were officially recognised as a region for the first time in 1796, when George Washington used the terms “North” (Union states) and “South” (Confederate states) to describe how the Union and Confederate states had different ideas and policies about slavery. In addition to having the same ideas, the northern states were tied together by political, educational, cultural, and economic ties. As immigration and trade increased, the interests of each state became more similar.

In the 21st century, the northern states are mostly independent, but they have some things in common, like strong manufacturing sectors and more people per square mile than the rest of the country. Due to the federal system in the United States and the fact that each state has more freedom, the term “northern states” is not used very often. Most of the time, the states are broken up into smaller groups, like New England and the Midwest.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Read More