What Are the Major Sports Teams That Do Not End in the Letter “s”?

There are nine major U.S.-based professional sports teams whose names do not end in “s,” including the National Basketball Association’s Oklahoma City Thunder, Miami Heat, Orlando Magic, and Utah Jazz; Major League Baseball’s Boston Red Sox and Chicago White Sox; and the National Hockey League’s Colorado Avalanche, Minnesota Wild, and Tampa Bay Lightning. All 32 teams in the National Football League have mascots with names ending in “s.”

The majority of team names finish in “s” since they exist in plural form. However, “Sox” is a variation on the spelling of “socks” for the two baseball clubs, but the other teams’ names are plural without the letter “s.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Read More