What Are America’s Northern States?

Connecticut, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Vermont, and Wisconsin are the northernmost states in the United States. During the American Civil War, these states were historically known as Union states.

The northern states were historically split into four distinct areas: New England, the Middle Atlantic states, the Old Northwest (East North Central States), and the Great Plains (West North Central States). The northern states were first recognised as a geographical unit in 1796, when George Washington used the names “North” (Union states) and “South” (Confederate states) to refer to the two regions’ conflicting policies and attitudes toward slavery. In addition to sharing a shared philosophy, the northern states were linked by political, educational, cultural, and economic links as immigration and trade helped to meld separate state interests.

In the twenty-first century, the northern states are mainly independent, but they share characteristics such as strong manufacturing sectors and high population densities compared to the rest of the country. The term “northern states” is not generally used in America because of the federal structure and greater autonomy amongst states. States are usually divided into smaller regions, such as New England and the Midwest.

Read more: What Is a List of Cabbage Patch Dolls’ Names?


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Read More