The United States is in Both the Northern and Southern Hemispheres

The Northern and Western hemispheres both contain the United States. The Earth is divided into its Eastern and Western hemispheres by the Prime Meridian and its Northern and Southern hemispheres by the Equator.

The remainder of North America, northern South America, all of Europe, and areas of Africa and Asia are also included in the Northern Hemisphere. The Southern Hemisphere is home to Antarctica, Australia, much of South America, as well as portions of Africa and Asia.

The Caribbean and half of Antarctica are also a part of the Western Hemisphere, along with all of North and South America. The other half of Antarctica, all of Asia and Australia, as well as the majority of Europe and Africa, are all located in the Eastern Hemisphere.

Since the Earth is divided into hemispheres by the Prime Meridian and the Equator, their coordinates are zero degrees longitude and zero degrees latitude, respectively. These two digits form the foundation of all coordinates.

While the Prime Meridian is an arbitrary line used for navigation, the Equator was established due to the Earth’s rotation. This is especially true in the maritime industry.

Following a vote at the International Meridian Conference, the Greenwich Meridian was selected as the primary meridian of the world in 1884. This made it possible to develop a standardised system of measurement and classification.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Read More