In Which Two Hemispheres Is the United States Located?

Both the northern and western hemispheres are home to the United States. The Equator separates the Earth into the Northern and Southern hemispheres, whereas the Prime Meridian separates the Earth into the Eastern and Western hemispheres.

The Northern hemisphere consists of the remainder of North America, the northern regions of South America, the entirety of Europe, and portions of Africa and Asia. The Southern hemisphere contains Antarctica, Australia, the majority of South America, as well as portions of Africa and Asia. The Western hemisphere comprises the entirety of North and South America, as well as the Caribbean and part of Antarctica. The Eastern hemisphere comprises the remaining half of Antarctica, the entirety of Asia and Australia, and the majority of Europe and Africa.

Since the Prime Meridian and Equator are used to divide the Earth into hemispheres, their degrees of longitude and latitude are both zero. These are the two digits upon which all coordinates are based. The Equator was calculated due to the spinning of the Earth, whereas the Prime Meridian is an arbitrary line used for navigation, especially in the maritime industry. Following a vote at the International Meridian Conference in 1884, the Greenwich Meridian was adopted as the primary meridian of the world. This enabled the development of a standardised system of measurement and classification.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Read More