In Michigan, is it Legal for Me to Move Out at 17?

In the state of Michigan, a 17-year-old is able to leave his home without violating any laws. However, according to LawRefs.com, this is only legitimate due of a gap in Michigan law.

The state of Michigan does not classify 17-year-olds as adults, minors, or juveniles. Parents must, however, provide for their children until they turn 18 years old. If the kid decides to leave at 17, things get tricky. If a parent’s 17-year-old child decides to leave or run away, they are unlikely to obtain police aid because the child has the legal right to live alone.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Read More

Recent