How Many Quarters Are There in Hockey?

In a standard-length hockey game, there are three periods. Each hockey game consists of three periods: the first, the second, and the third.

Each game consists of three 20-minute periods separated by two 15-minute pauses, for a total of one hour. If the game is tied at the conclusion of regulation, sudden death overtime is played, and if it remains tied after that, a shootout determines the winner. Rules governing post-regulation play differ between regular season and postseason contests, and Olympic hockey, NHL hockey, and other leagues employ their own overtime and shootout formulas.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Read More