How Many American States Begin With the Letter “A”?

Four U.S. state names begin with the letter “A.” The states are Alabama, Alaska, Arizona and Arkansas. In addition to the states, American Samoa, a U.S. territory, also begins with the letter “A.”

Alabama is the oldest of the four states beginning with the letter “A,” having joined the union in 1819. Alaska is the youngest state on the list, having attained statehood in 1959. Arkansas was admitted to the union in 1836, and Arizona in 1912. More state names begin with “M” and “N” than with any other letters of the alphabet.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Read More